Two former EDAD Director of Special Education licensure graduates have been selected for statewide 2019 awards for their outstanding leadership from the MN Association of Special Education Administrators (MASE). Both were outstanding students, and former SCSU EDAD Special Education Director Licensure students.  The Special Education graduates have been selected multiple times for their administrative leadership skills at the statewide level.

2019 MASE New Special Education Leader Award:

The 2019 recipient of the MASE New Special Education Leader Award is Amy Ernst, Director of Special Education, Buffalo-Hanover-Montrose Schools. Amy will be presented the award on Friday Morning, March 8 at the MASE/MASA Spring Conference.

This award is given annually to a new leader who exhibits the leadership excellence required to be effective in challenging times. These skills include: a willingness to risk, an ability to collaborate, skills in listening and communicating, and a broad understanding of the educational system. Further, this award is given to a new leader who has demonstrated passion and commitment to shaping policies and practices which impact the quality of education for students with disabilities.

Previous winners from SCSU EDAD were:

2017 Tim Finn

2015 Dr. Heidi Hahn

2014 Diane McCarron

2013 Dr. Mary Clarkson

2012 Tammy Stahl

2011 Dr. Reggie Engebritson

2019 MASE Legacy Award

The 2019 recipient of the MASE Legacy Award is Gaynard Brown, Retired Director, Paul Bunyan Education Cooperative.

The MASE Legacy Award recognizes a member for their commitment to encouraging, developing, and mentoring leaders. This award’s recipient will have contributed to the professional growth and development of others and have a service history as including long-standing training, mentoring, personal support, and modeling, resulting in an impact at the local, regional, and state levels that is considerable and measurable over time.

Previous winners from SCSU EDAD were:

2015 Nan Records

2010 Janine Dahms-Walker

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *